The Apulia Region extends the buffer zone to the north in the area demarcated for Xylella fastidiosa


The Director of Apulian Plant Health Agency has approved with official Determination no. 108 dated March 19, 2018, and published on March 29 in the Regional Official Bulletin no. 44, an update of the areas demarcated for the presence of Xylella fastidiosa.

According to the new update (see the area in violet on the map), the buffer zone is now comprising the municipalities of Martina Franca (Taranto), Fasano (Brindisi) and, for the first time, a territory included in the Province of Bari (the municipality of Locorotondo). In compliance with the current legislation, the compulsory control of the vector and restrictions on plant movement will be in place in the newly demarcated areas.

The newly demarcated areas are shown on the map below.